Garnet Valley Image

School Board

GVSD Board of School Directors

As required by the Pennsylvania School Code, the Garnet Valley School District is governed by a School Board comprised of nine directors who serve four-year terms. Elections are held every odd-numbered year. Four to five directors are generally elected at any one time.

At an annual organization meeting held the first week of December, the School Board chooses a President and Vice President for the coming calendar year. Currently, Rosemary Fiumara is Board President and Tracy Karwoski is Vice President. 

A primary responsibility of the Board is to set district policy, which is then implemented by the administration. Another major responsibility is to approve the annual budget and set tax rates. The fiscal year covered by the budget runs from July 1 to June 30.

In addition to the School Board, the student body of Garnet Valley High School elects two student representatives for a one-year term that runs concurrent with the fiscal year. These representatives serve in a non-voting advisory capacity.

To reach our Board members you may email them at e-mail the School Board or contact them by phone using the following contact information:

GVSD Board of School Directors Member Information

Rosemary Fiumara, President 610-459-2303
Tracy A. Karwoski, Vice-President 610-485-6320
Mary Kay Beirne 610-361-0058
Robert Hayes 610-721-7374
Greg Chestnut 610-459-8818
Maria Deysher 610-299-8869
Scott Mayer 610-283-5037
Robert Anderson 610-459-0783
Richard Jones 610-662-8816
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.